Skip to content Skip to footer

Sustainable Development Goals

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a collection of 17 action plans with 169 associated targets under the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development Blueprint shared by all United Nations (UN) Member States in 2015. It is an urgent call for action by all countries – developed and developing – in a global partnership to bring peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future.

The UN Member States recognise that ending poverty and other deprivations must go hand-in-hand with strategies that improve health and education, reduce inequality, and spur economic growth – all while tackling climate change and working to preserve our oceans and forests.

Since 1 January 2016, the new goals and targets have guided and will continue to guide the decisions of all UN States over the next fifteen years. While remaining consistent with relevant international rules and commitments, each country can create its own national policy space for sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, in particular for developing states.

The Sarawak Tourism Board Responsible Tourism Programme focuses on 3 specific Sustainable Development Goals mainly, SDG 4: Quality Education, SDG 12: Responsible Consumption and Production and SDG 17: Partnerships for the Goals.

This is in tandem with the Sarawak Economic Action Council’s (SEAC) Tourism Aspiration “By 2030, Sarawak will be a leading destination for eco-tourism and business events in ASEAN Region driven by empowered communities to conserve heritage, culture and biodiversity and to promote investments and development through responsible actions”.

Goal 4

Ensure Inclusive and Equitable Quality Education and Promote Lifelong Learning Opportunities for All

Goal 12

Ensure Sustainable Consumption and Production Pattern

Goal 17

Strengthen the Means of Implementation and Revitalise the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development